Ma mère [2004]

Ma mère-0023/10 | 19.Jun.13
Ma mère

DIRECTOR: Christophe Honoré | WRITER: Christophe Honoré (from a novel by Georges Bataille) | CAST: Isabelle Huppert, Louis Garrel, Emma de Caunes, Joana Preiss, Jean-Baptiste Montagut, Dominique Reymond, Olivier Rabourdin, Philippe Duclos | France

Absurd, pretentious trash that tries way too hard to shock with its jejune visions of what the grownups’ ultimate debauchery might look like. Sorry, honey, but if girl on top hetero fucking, hetero rimming, lesbian frottage, and man-on-man action limited to look-but-don’t-touch exhibitionism is your idea of utter depravity then you’ve led a cloistered life and have no imagination. OK, there’s the heavy-duty whipping stuff with a submissive man and dominant woman. And the suggestion of incest, but no real consummation. Wheee! I found Isabelle Huppert interesting to watch because no matter how hard she tried she always looked like an actress who was working really hard; I never for a moment believed the character. And Louis Garrel is naked. A lot. In fact, seeing Louis Garrel naked a lot is the only reason I can think of to bother watching this movie. Is seeing Louis Garrel naked a lot worth sitting through the rest? For me the answer is Yes. Your mileage may vary.

2 comments

  1. Haven’t seen this one but I have seen enough of Honoré to know he can edge towards the pretentious. I still find him an interesting director though, and I love Huppert. I mean to check this out. Garrel naked I can take or leave tbh.

    1. I’m not going to tell you that Ma mère is absolutely not worth seeing. Far from it. I normally love Isabelle Huppert, but she just failed to convince me in this part and I kept seeing “hard working actress hitting her marks, getting the little quirks and mannerisms right” rather than a real human being. And for some odd reason that I can’t pinpoint she reminded me strongly of Holly Hunter in Crash. Hmmm. Now that I’ve finally figured out who she reminded me of I’m starting to have second thoughts…I’ll come back to this one. Maybe. Louis Garrel is a so-so actor, I think, but I’m more than willing to put up with anything he’s in because I find him alluring. I mean, I sat through La frontière de l’aube THREE TIMES because of him. And I’m still puzzling over why Philippe Garrel shot his son like that, or maybe it was the cinematographer. Whoever it was, someone in charge of how that film looked was in serious lust with Louis Garrel.

Comments?

