Dom za vešanje | Дом за вешање | Time of the Gypsies [1988]

Dom za vesanje-0015/10 | 7.Mar.13
Dom za vešanje | Дом за вешање | Time of the Gypsies

DIRECTOR: Emir Kusturica | WRITERS: Emir Kusturica, Gordan Mihić | CAST: Davor Dujmović, Bora Todorović, Ljubica Adžović, Husnija Hasimović, Sinolicka Trpkova, Zabit Memedov, Elvira Sali, Suada Karisik, Sedrije Halim, Branko Djuric | Italy/UK/Yugoslavia

It’s been a little over two months since I watched Time of the Gypsies and I have no real desire to watch it again to refresh my memory of particulars. The note I made at the time was that I found it “sloppy, amateurish, with some interesting things, about an hour too long”; I’ll add that it was filled with twee magical realism and my old bugaboo whimsy, and the look and feel of the movie were incredibly dated even taking into account the later breakup of Yugoslavia. I think I’ll pretty much leave it at that.

Comments?

