Sight & Sound’s Individual Top 10 Films Lists

The individual Top 10 films lists for the participants in this decade’s Sight & Sound The Greatest Films Poll have been published.  As I mentioned before, my tastes coincide a lot more with the 358 participating directors than with the critics. Here again is the directors’ Top 10 list:

  1. Tokyo Story (1953) Yasujirô Ozu
  2. 2001: A Space Odyssey (1968) Stanley Kubrick
  3. Citizen Kane (1941) Orson Welles
  4. 8½ (1963) Federico Fellini
  5. Taxi Driver (1976) Martin Scorcese
  6. Apocalypse Now (1979) Francis Ford Coppola
  7. Vertigo (1958) Alfred Hitchcock
  8. The Godfather: Part I (1972) Francis Ford Coppola
  9. Mirror (1974) Andrei Tarkovsky
  10. The Bicycle Thieves (1948) Vittorio de Sica

Those rankings were determined by the number of times each movie appeared on the directors’ lists. (I’ve seen all but the Tarkovsky, and Tokyo Story I saw this year.) What’s interesting now is to look at those individual lists. From the few I’ve looked at so far, Béla Tarr (a director I wasn’t terribly fond of 25 years ago, but maybe I should reassess) and I surprisingly seem to be on the same wavelength when it comes to movies. Here’s his Top 10:

  1. Aleksandr Nevski (1938) Sergei Eisenstein
  2. Au Hasard Balthazar (1966) Robert Bresson
  3. Berlin Alexanderplatz (1980) Rainer Werner Fassbinder
  4. Frenzy (1972) Alfred Hitchcock
  5. M (1931) Fritz Lang
  6. Man with a Movie Camera (1929) Dziga Vertov
  7. Passion of Joan of Arc (1927) Carl Theodor Dreyer
  8. The Round-Up (1966) Miklós Jancsó
  9. Tokyo Story (1953) Yasujirô Ozu
  10. Vivre sa vie (1962) Jean-Luc Godard

I’ve seen all of these with the exception of the Vertov. I’m surprised by Frenzy and quite happy with Au hasard Balthazar and Vivre sa vie, but I’m thrilled with Szegénylegények / The Round-Up.

Comments?

