Le mépris [1963]

5/10 | 17.Mar.12
Le mépris

Jean-Luc Godard: 1963)

CONTEMPT (“Le Mépris”, 1963). No, I don’t care for the Jean-Luc Godard films I’ve seen, and this one didn’t do anything to change my opinion. There’s something forced about his movies in general, including this one, that I find off-putting and even unpleasant. I don’t mind breaking the fourth wall, showing the seams, insisting on the unreality of the scene before us, any of that, but here it felt like laziness. And what was with that screenplay? Whose idea was it to have abrupt interior monologues that sound like character descriptions or stage directions from a too-explicit play? The absurdly clumsy use of Cinemascope (yes, it was apparently forced on him, as was Bardot’s pointless nude scene) was inexcusable. This was my first Bardot movie; she looks almost pretty in movement. And this was Michel Piccoli’s screen debut! Hubba-hubba! Fritz Lang made me wince, but Jack Palance was atrocious. Add a point for Piccoli with his shirt off. 5/10. [3/17/12]

One comment

  1. […] I started keeping track of the movies I watch in December 2011. These five are Tokyo Story (#3), Le mépris (#21), Pierrot le Fou (#42), The Battle of Algiers (#48), and La jetée (#50). Here’s the […]

Comments?

