Nikutai no mon | 肉体の門 | Gate of Flesh [1964]

8/10 | 16.Mar.12
Nikutai no mon | 肉体の門 | Gate of Flesh

Seijun Suzuki: 1964

If FASTER, PUSSYCAT! KILL! KILL! deserves a 10/10 rating, and I think it does, then GATE OF FLESH (“Nikutai no mon”, 1964) deserves an 11/10. I’ve never seen a funnier angry film in my life: the visceral hatred of American GIs in postwar Japan, of America in general, is almost palpable, but then this film is angry about everything and everyone. And it’s as funny as hell. *This* is a “drop what you’re doing and see it now” movie as far as I’m concerned. I watched it twice in a row just to be sure I wasn’t making it up, and I’m glad I didn’t know anything about the movie beyond the IMDb plot summary: it gives you the bare bones plot but absolutely does not prepare you for what you’re about to see. (Note: if you’re at all squeamish, be prepared to cover your eyes for a minute or two when a cow makes an appearance.) 10/10. [3/16/12]

Comments?

