Pickpocket [1959]

24Feb12 – 10 – Pickpocket (Robert Bresson: 1959)

Wow.

[P.S. from 4 March] I’ve written that Robert Bresson’s film PICKPOCKET is by far my favorite of the movies I’ve seen this year and I’ve been trying to tease out to myself why that would be the case. After all, I’ve been watching almost a movie a day for two months and the majority of them have been either movies I’ve already seen and loved for one reason or other, or they’ve been movies that came highly recommended by friends or other sources. Yes, there have been a few clunkers along the way chosen out of curiosity, but I have also come across terrific films like BOOMERANG! that way too.

So why PICKPOCKET? Gary Indiana, of all people, comes to the kind of conclusion about the film, and Bresson in general, that I’ve been try to formulate for myself. Maybe I should leave all my thinking to him? (Just a joke.)
http://www.criterion.com/current/posts/400-pickpocket-robert-bresson-hidden-in-plain-sight

I replicated a Film Forum double bill of MOUCHETTE and PICKPOCKET without even knowing it. Huh. J. Hoberman nails it, as far as I’m concerned.
http://www.villagevoice.com/2005-09-27/film/states-of-grace/

Comments?

